Polaroid Collection 1

SeeBee Photography

This post is about some of my personal work.  It’s much different then the work that I do for my families.

When I am photographing a family, it’s true that I am documenting something special.  However I am meticulous in my ‘posing’, color correction, and finished product.

With my personal Polaroid work?  Not as much.

I am still documenting something incredibly special (to me), but the finished product…is almost always a mystery.

SeeBee Photography

I don’t ever truly know what my vision is going to look like on film.  Maybe that’s one of the reasons I love doing this so much.

Sure I take into consideration the film temperature, before/during & after shooting.  I pay attention to development time and light.

But what I see in my head and what comes out are sometimes drastically different. Sometimes I had unevenly spread emulsion, or a weird orange cast to my photos.

But at the end of the day, it’s incredibly hard for me to part with these images.  I recently was fortunate enough to partake in the craft show Craftin’ Outlaws.

So, I had to frame my babies and sell them.

SeeBee Photography

Many people asked me at the show, did you actually take these?  Yes…yes I did.

I can tell you where it was taken, how cold/hot it was outside & where I was illegally parked to get the shot.

I think that is another reason I love these so much.  You can’t right click on my Polaroid and “get info.”

It’s not geotagged, and doesn’t contain any metadata.

SeeBee Photography

There’s no Instagram filter, no {command + Z} function if you screw up.

My camera collection has been steadily growing for the past few years.

I started off with my 600 film camera, and have added a Big Swinger, Sx-70, etc.

SeeBee Photography

It really doesn’t get any better than this for me.  Each image is packed full of emotion for me. All I can hope is that it may resonate with others as well.

SeeBee Photography

xoxo

Leave a Reply

